Didn’t think I would be so sad

I watch quite a bit of Baseball this weekend.  I didn’t expect much, boy was i surprised! First on Friday night they didn’t postpone the game until after 10:00. It was pouring, everyone knew the game was not going to be played, but they just wouldn’t pospone, so we waited.

Saturdays game was a little disapointing, but what the heck we knew we were out of the running, and it was Mike Lowell’s farewell game.  Just writing that makes me cry.  I can’t believe he won’t be with the team come Spring Training time.

Then came the make up game.  No starters except for J.D. as DH. What the hell were we trying to lose?  Surprise, we won it in the 10th!!

Yesterdays game made me cry again, possibly the last time Jason Varitek will step up to the plate as a Red Sox. He will always be the team Captain to me.

Red Sox catcher Jason Varitek gets a hug from Victor Martinez after he was replaced in the ninth inning yesterday.

So what if the Yankees won the Wild Card, we knew we couldn’t.

But we won the game, the weekend, and we looked terrific!!

So go play your Playoff Games and we will sit back and wait for Spring.  But we have to Thank the Sox for a Great Ending to a crazy season.

My daughter went to a good bye time for Mike Lowell at Jerry Remys new restaurant, and won a Wally Doll, autographed by Jerry.  I have an original Wally, but this one is so much nicer, it has Jerry’s name on it’s butt, and I love Jerry. ( by the way the Wally doll is now mine,  because I lent her my Mike Lowell shirt)

I will probably do a blog saying Good Bye to Mike Lowell, but right now I just can’t.

Noni

 

2 comments

  1. raysrenegade

    Let me be the first to tell you the heart and soul of that 2010 Red Sox team can not be doubted. When we needed a little help and extra push, the Red Sox squad pulled out a few nice surprises for the Rays, and we THANK YOU for that.
    But this season’s squad always found a way to win. Considering the rollercoatser ride the Red Sox Nation tokk this season, you should be more than proud of the record and the experience you now have in your system fromsome of your top prospects.
    Ryan Larish is going to be in CF for a long time.

    Rays Renegade

    http://raysrenegade.mlblogs.com

    • noni

      Thank you for all the nice things you had to say about my beloved Red Sox, and Congratulations to your Team for winning the Division!

      Hopefully they don’t stop now, and go on to the World Series and the Championship!
      Good Luck.

Leave a comment